top of page

Cake Decorating Essentials

The question I get asked most frequently by aspiring cake bakers is: "what tools do I need for cake decorating?". It's a really good question and I'm always happy to answer any question on an individual basis, but I felt like this question needed an entire post devoted to it so you have a full list and links to each of the tools in case you're ready to buy or want to see what everything looks like. I also feel like it's important to narrow the list down to just the essentials. There are so many fun tools and gadgets you could spend your money on, but to get started, I think you should focus on what you really need.

So, here's what I think are the essential tools for cake decorating:

1. Turn Table - I recommend investing in a good-quality turn table. I've been through a few plastic turn tables and they just don't hold up like a metal one. I've been really pleased with the "Cake Boss" brand I got a Michaels for 60% off. You can also find these metal turn tables on Amazon for under $50. Check out this cute white one HERE.

3. Icing Spatulas - to start off, I'd suggest getting a straight icing spatula and an offset spatula. They don't need to be big, as I'd also suggest you start your baking journey with simple 3-layer cakes. Once you're used to working with the smaller sized icing spatulas, grab a couple larger ones and start to play around with taller cakes. You can find icing spatulas at just about any craft store, as well as specialty bakery supply stores and, of course, Amazon. Here's a handful to look through

Offset Icing Spatula HERE

Straight Icing Spatula - HERE

Set of Three - HERE

4. Cake Leveler - also on my essentials list is a cake leveler like this ONE by Wilton. Each side has numbers on it so that you can line up the wire to create a perfectly leveled cake.

5. Cake Boards - I'd also suggest getting cake boards, something you can find at your local craft store like Joann's, Michaels or Hobby Lobby. They come pre-cut and will make moving your cake to and from the turn table a breeze.

6. Parchment Paper - finally, please, please, please make sure you have parchment paper. You can get pre-cut parchment rounds like THESE or trace your pans on parchment paper and cut out each circle. Whichever way you decide to go, just make sure you're spraying your pans with non-stick spray, placing parchment rounds at the bottom of the pan, and spraying the parchment with non-stick spray as well.


bottom of page