top of page

Chocolate Chip Butterscotch Cake

I so badly wanted to show you how to make this cake on Periscope yesterday, but the app was not cooperating and wouldn't load my video. So frustrating! I'll have to try again on the next Milk Bar cake, but just know that the Milk Bar cakes are much easier to make than they look. Yes, they do require some time, but if you plan ahead, it will feel like a breeze.

Layers of chocolate chip cake, butterscotch filling, chocolate cookie crumbs and butterscotch frosting!

Most of the Milk Bar cakes are made with a cake layer, a filling, cookie crumbs and frosting. Because there are so many parts to each cake, I usually make these cakes over the course of a couple days, ending with the frosting the day I actually assemble the cake. You also need to refrigerate overnight, so add that time to your planning as well. I usually like my cakes room temperature, but these cakes are best served a bit chilled. They cut better when chilled too.

Some of the ingredients, like glucose and citric acid, can be hard to find, so plan ahead and start looking for them before baking day. You can find glucose at Joann's or Michael craft stores, but you might have to go to a specialty baking supply store for citric acid. The hardest thing to find for this cake is the acetate paper. You won't be able to find it at your local craft store. Instead, you'll have to look at a bakery supply store or order some online (like THESE) and have it shipped to your house so you don't have to hunt it down.

I've made several Milk Bar cakes in the past, including the Birthday Cake, the Apple Pie, and the Pumpkin Pie. I've also created my own Milk Bar-inspired cakes, like the Banana Cream Cake and Chocolate Nutella. This week, I'm making the Birthday Cake again and my version of the Chocolate Chip cake. For the Chocolate Chip cake, I decided to switch out the passion fruit curd for a butterscotch filling and the coffee frosting for a butterscotch frosting. I did use the Milk Bar chocolate chip cake and chocolate cookie crumb recipes.

I love this combination and am so happy with how it turned out. I hope you like it too!

Chocolate Chip Butterscotch Cake, inspired by Milk Bar

Yield: one 6-inch cake

For the Chocolate Chip Cake, the Chocolate Cookie Crumbs and assembly instructions, refer to the Milk Bar recipe page, HERE. During assembly, just use the butterscotch filling in place of the passion fruit curd and the butterscotch frosting in place of the coffee frosting.

Butterscotch Filling 1 box (3 oz.) instant butterscotch pudding 1 cup cold milk Mix until there are no clumps. Chill until set and ready to use. Butterscotch Frosting 1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract 1 tablespoon milk 1/4 teaspoon salt 2 tablespoons dulce de leche (I like the Trader Joes brand) In a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat the butter until creamy, about one minute. Turn the mixer to low and gradually add the powdered sugar and the milk. Beat for a couple minutes, then add the vanilla, salt and dulce de leche until smooth, about 2 minutes.

© 2023 by Salt & Pepper. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page