top of page

Classic Yellow Cake

Is there anything more classic than a yellow cake with chocolate frosting? I continue to hear that it's a favorite for so many people, especially the box mix. And while I said goodbye to box mixes years ago, I'll admit, there's something pretty alluring about the flavor and texture of a yellow cake mix: rich butter and vanilla extracts in a moist and fluffy cake... you just can't go wrong (except for the fact that it's not homemade).

I've tried a couple yellow cake recipes in the past but was never impressed enough to save them or send myself on a mission to find the best yellow cake recipe - until now, that is. This new mission started when I offered to make my friend, Brooke from FemaleFoodie.com, a cake for her review. I told her she could pick any cake she wanted, and without hesitation she said a yellow cake with chocolate frosting.

Of course, I immediately threw out every yellow cake recipe I had, knowing they weren't nearly good enough, and started my research from scratch. I scoured Pinterest, cookbooks and my go-to cake blogs, selected a handful of recipes and started comparing ingredients. I wanted something that screamed flavorful and moist, so when I saw Grandbaby Cakes recipe with a full cup of sour cream, seven whole eggs and butter extract, I knew I had to give it a try. (Taste of the South Magazine also loved this cake.)

The first yellow cake attempt, using a recipe from Grandbaby Cakes...

I had high hopes that it would meet my expectations for flavor and texture, but I have to admit, I was slightly let down. It's a good cake but it was a little too dense for my taste and didn't resemble any of the flavor from a box mix that I was looking for.

I was about to try a completely new recipe, but the more I thought about it, the more I realized that this recipe could be a keeper... with a few tweaks. Since I was going from a slightly artificial flavor, I decided to substitute clear vanilla extract from the pure vanilla extract. I also liked Sweetapolita's idea of using egg yolks in addition to the whole eggs, so instead of seven whole eggs, I used five whole eggs and two yolks the second time around, hoping to get a slightly more yellow color and richer flavor. (The color didn't change but I was happy with the flavor.) The other change I made was adding more baking powder to get the cakes to raise a little more and feel a bit more fluffy.

After making my revisions, I gave the first slice to my toughest critic. I literally sat next to him as he ate, staring at his face for a glimpse of his first, initial, most honest reaction. Luckily, it was a good one. (Phew!)

As for the frosting, I first tried the recipe Grandbaby Cakes provided with her yellow cake, but I found it hard to spread and didn't love the dense texture, so I've included my favorite chocolate frosting recipe below.

The real test will be tomorrow night (11/17) when Brooke and I get together for a live Periscope broadcast about this cake, some tips and tricks, and her taste test. Brooke will also be showing us how to make one of my favorite desserts: peanut butter ice cream. I'm so excited! I hope you'll join us. Check my Instagram for reminders about when we'll broadcast.

Hope you enjoy this cake! Let me know what you think!

Classic Yellow Cake and Chocolate Frosting

Yield: 8" inch, 3 layer cake

Ingredients

For the Cake (adapted from Grandbaby Cakes)

2 sticks unsalted butter, room temperature

1/3 cup canola oil

1 teaspoon salt

2 1/2 cups granulated sugar

5 whole eggs, room temperature

2 eggs yolks, room temperature

3 cups cake flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 cup sour cream, room temperature

1 tablespoon clear vanilla extract

1 teaspoon butter extract

For the Chocolate Frosting (adapted from Sweetapolita)

2 cups unsalted butter

4 1/2 cups confectioners' sugar

1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract

Pinch of salt

10 oz. good quality milk chocolate, chopped, melted and cooled

1/2 cup heavy whipping cream

Instructions

For the Cake

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Prepare three 8" round cake pans with butter or non-stick spray, parchment and flour dusting. Set aside.

2. In a medium size bowl, sift the cake flour and baking powder. Set aside.

3. In the bowl of a stand mixer, fitted with the paddle attachment, beat the butter, canola oil, salt and sugar on high until fluffy and smooth, about 5 minutes.

4. Add the eggs and egg yolks, one at a time to the bowl and beat on medium until well incorporated.

5. Turn the mixer on low and add half of the flour mixture to the butter mixture until fully incorporated. Then add half of the sour cream and blend well, and lastly, add the remaining flour mixture and mix until incorporated.

6. Add the clear vanilla extract and butter extract and beat on low until incorporated. SCrape down the sides of the bowl and mix on low for another 30 seconds.

7. Evenly distribute the cake batter among the three pans and bake for 25-30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the middle of the cakes comes out clean or with just a few crumbs. Make sure not to overbake.

8. Remove cakes from the oven and let cool in pans for 10 minutes before inverting onto cooling racks.

9. Once completely cooled, wrap in plastic wrap and place in the freezer or refrigerator to chill before frosting.

For the Frosting

1. In a bowl fitted with a paddle attachment, combine the confectioners' sugar and butter. Beat on low speed for one minute.

2. Add vanilla and salt and beat until combined.

3. Add the melted, cooled chocolate and beat on medium speed until smooth, about two minutes.

4. With the mixer on low speed, slowly add the whipping cream. Increase the speed to medium-high and beat for another 2-3 minutes, until light and fluffy.

bottom of page